Saelynn's Blog

Passions of a library nerd

On Customer Service

leave a comment »

I applied for my first front-line customer service job in order to improve my social skills.  Seriously.  I knew that for my chosen profession I needed people skills and I didn’t have them.  So I worked a month at a terrible coffee shop, a year at a bottle return-it and then a year as the admin assistant at a dance studio before I applied for my first position in my chosen field.

Did it help? Yes.  Was it enough?  Not really.  The level of public service that is required at my current position is high.  I’m not perfect at it, might never be, but I do my best.

I put up with people screaming at me, people willfully destroying public property, people unable/unwilling to learn new tasks, people upset with change…. and generally people who don’t know how to function politely.

But I also get to deal with wonderful people who want to learn new skills, share their stories and who are grateful for the service we provide.

Most days I know that the latter outweigh the former, but on days like today, it is hard to remember.  And not only are some people tough to deal with, it really bothers me when I know I’m not dealing with a situation the best way possible.

Sometimes I know the only way to deal with certain situations well is to gain experience, and the only way to gain experience is time.  And gaining years of experience is going to take years.

Written by saelynn

June 11, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

